Please Don’t Fight Me

In all this madness.

Matthew Blacquiere (Urban Moon)

Red River Project

I’m found of looking back into the past and stretching it out in order to find meaning. Over the next few days I want to look at the milestones in my personal evolution as a musician and songwriter.I am hoping to include clips from each of the periods, and I apologize for the quality but most of these were recorded under less than ideal circumstances.

My musical career began in Grade 10 Business Administration, more or less. I had been singing in theatre productions for some time before that, but I had never been in a band until that class.  I can still remember the first afternoon in Rob’s basement, with Matt on bass, and a crazy song called Airman coming out of the PA.  While I can’t say much for the lyrics or melody, Matt was proving for the first of many times that he could write great songs.  Back in those days we could never achieve any of our grand ambitions in recording or performance, but we were earnest in our efforts.

Urban Moon was always a group in transition. Members, including myself, floated in and out. We had 3 or 4 “final concerts” before we finally shut it down in 2002.  We played in people’s basements, backyards, a dingy hotel bar, an assisted living complex, and in one of the largest on campus clubs anywhere.  We peaked as a band at our very last show, despite the fact that I forgot the lyrics to Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds.

I wanted to post a song from the Red River Project, an album put together by Matt and Rob, but I realized that I no longer have a copy of it. I gave mine to Jen Balen in high school, for the same reason that many men have probably given her things. I was not successful. So I have turned to the 3 disc set: Urban Moon: Live in Suits… Rarities, etc. for a live version of My Madness recorded at one of our so called last shows ever. I should point out that Matt wrote this song, and I am playing bass on the recorded version. You can find both Airman and My Madness right here (there is The Alder Fork news after the songs):

Airman

My Madness

We have reached the first post that won’t include a song from the album.  Hopefully those who have been coming to this site diligently will continue to do so, assuming I can keep it interesting. As a way of celebrating the release of the album (which will actually be next weekend officially) I thought I would give everyone a preview of the final order of songs. You could go back and listen to them all in order, or you can just wait until it is finally available in that way online. Some songs will have minor changes before the finished product is put out.

The Lights I See You In Shadow

Great Cliff-Face Real Estate
Affirmation
Twenty Five
Back and Forth
NOTLD
Easterbrooks
The Mountain
HG Plant Companion
Deer Deer
The Sunrises
Orsola
May

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “Please Don’t Fight Me”

  1. We Won’t Concede Defeat « The Alder Fork Says:

    […] Sea. If you are interested in the shared musical history of Matt and I please check out the posts here, here, and here. You will also find some more tracks featuring songs written and performed by Matt […]

  2. Bad News « The Alder Fork Says:

    […] have a more compelling entry tomorrow. In the meantime you could check out the podcast, or look back on some old posts. Hope you have a nice Tuesday, and that your family day was better than […]

Leave a Reply

