Now Watch Out, Sister of Mine

My lady mother, when I do less or more than what you require of me I beg you to beat me as much as you will so that I may be careful another time

Catherine Benincasa

quoted by Rudolph Bell in Holy Anorexia

I mentioned the other day that I was looking for musicians to be part of my latest project.  You might be wondering “What is this new project?” First, some background.  I have recently completed an MA.  My thesis concerned the relationship between spiritual/religious belief and anorexia.  I can confidently say that they interact in an apparent and complex manner.  There have been several books and articles written on the topic, and if you really want to know about it I can send you my summary chapter on the research. Why is this important? Well as part of my research for the thesis I read Holy Anorexia by Rudolph Bell. It is an examination of the lives of hundreds of medieval Italian ascetics who died from starving themselves. The book itself focuses on a few specific cases in detail.  Although it is written in a scholarly fashion it is remarkably moving.  Thus I have decided to take the stories of the 6 women mentioned in the book and turn them into an album.  Now I rarely write songs on a particular topic never mind an entire album, so a great deal of research and work will go into writing the songs in the first place.

I am hoping that a female vocalist will step forward to be the voice of the project.  I don’t want to be the one telling these women’s stories. I don’t think I should be.  If you want to take part in this adventure please leave a comment or email me. I promise it will be lots of fun.

Just a reminder you can get The Lights I See You In Shadow by The Alder Fork by clicking on “Get the Album” over there –>. Thank you to everyone who has taken the time to listen and comment.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

