One Night Only!!!

If you’re going to San Fransico…Be sure to wear some flowers in your hair.

Scott Mckenzie (really John Phillips)

San Francisco (Be Sure to Wear Flowers in Your Hair

I have to admit that I sat down at the computer today without a clue what I was going to write about.  This is the first time in 40 days that I haven’t had an idea stuck in the front of my brain.  But thankfully the world is full of inspiration.  I quoted the hippie anthem above because I thought I would take a minute to write about the Mid-Summer Festival of Peace and Tranquility.  It began in Grade 11 as an excuse to play an outdoor concert in my backyard.  The first year we had a BBQ and played a nice set of cover songs for an appreciative group of friends and relatives.  The second year Caillin Kowalczyk of Lovesick Designs (see the link) fame created a brilliant butterfly sign that I hope he still has.  The police came that year because we were too loud, but I wasn’t worried about it, and we have never seen them in the years since.

The basic concept behind the festival was that it would always have a ridiculous name and would continuously involve more acts. It has rarely occured in the “mid-summer”, in fact it was once in Spring.  I also made it extra long as a joke, because I think giving something an extra long name is funny.  So the name has never been that serious.

We have managed to involve more and more acts in the years since it was founded. This past summer we had 4 out at Parkview Church on a nice Saturday evening.

So what is the point of this post, besides telling some boring stories. Well for one there will be another Mid-Summer Festival of Peace and Tranquility in the new year.  I have already started brainstorming ideas for it and considering which acts I’m going to invite along for the ride.  I think it will once again occur during the actual summer, and in an outdoor location. More importantly, I will once again use the event to showcase a local charitable organization and maybe do a little fundraising. It won’t be on par with the money we made for Heart Cry Restoration Ministries (see the link) but it will be something. I will also be able to record this years show and make a very special podcast episode out of it.  Most likely the number of acts will increase again.

If anyone is interested in being involved with this years festival please contact me.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

