All This? For $2.50?

Force, the inertial tugs and pulls a two-dimensional being experiences when he tries to walk a straight line in three-dimensional space.

Bernhard Riemann

Quoted in

A Small Dog Barking and Other Stories

By Robert Strandquist

If you read yesterday’s post about an ecology of peace and are waiting for more, don’t worry it’s coming, just not today.  I promise it will be soon.

I want to divert your attention from serious matters today and talk about something I enjoy, used bookstores and thrift stores.  I should start by saying that I prefer to buy my clothes new, so I’m not usually found among the clothing racks at Value Village.  I do , however, like to get cheap books, records, and even tapes!  Plus I never know when I’ll find a wacky instrument to add to the collection and use on an album.  This is on my mind because of the tapes I mentioned the other day, and my recent visit to the Neighbour to Neighbour Used Bookstore where I picked up several Can Lit classics, by such renowned authors as Robertson Davies and Gabrielle Roy.  When I was in Waterloo I used to frequent Old Goat Books even if the people there kind of scared me. I know I have a loyal readership, and some transients who wander in periodically. I’d love to hear about your favourite little bookshops and thrift stores from coast to coast.

Another random thing happened today. I was flipping channels between periods of the Thrasher-Senators game, and I discoverd Sting singing opera.  A piece from Don Giovanni to be more precise.  He was sharing a duet with Angela Gheorghiu of Là ci darem la mano. What I found most interesting, beisdes the odd choice of having Sting do opera, was the vast difference in the quality of the vocal performance between the two.  Sting sounded good, as he usually does, but as soon as Gheorghiu opened her mouth it was obvious she sings on a different plane.  It’s just a reminder that what is popularly considered as the standard for musical ability generally lacks behind those who are truly the best.  I still recommend checking out the performance here.

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “All This? For $2.50?”

  1. kwinsider Says:

    Old Goat Books is great!! It feels so homey (in a good way) since it’s actually in a house!!

Leave a Reply

