Dreaming While You Sleep

In my dreams I’m dying all the time.

Moby

Porcelain

I was never a huge Moby fan, and I don’t usually die in my dreams (in fact I’m usually the one killing, scary), but it is an appropriate lyric for today’s podcast. It largely deals with themes pulled from my own dreams.  There is also music by Mythos, Duchess Says, and Miwagemini. As usual you can find the podcast over there –>.

I actually had a lot of ideas for this week’s show and had to leave many out. One involved an old collection of early Genesis songs, and another a call for action on the Mid-Summer Festival of Peace nd Tranquility (I will get to that soon).  My favourite missing piece was a discussion of Anne Hathaway’s interview with Barbara Walters. Now I did not watch the Oscars, nor did I see Rachel Getting Married, but I confess to being a lover of Anne.  Her work has generally been pretty good, and I have always thought of her as being quite beautiful.  Two things jumped at me as a result of the that interview. The first was her comment that she wanted to “own land.”  What a quirky 19th Century statement to make.  I imagine she meant it in the sense of a sprawling acreage in some quiet place, but I took it more literally. This young actor wanted to own some property, thus becoming a real grown up.  Mind you this was her answer to the question “where do you see yourself in 10 years?”Isn’t buying a piece of land really the last act of a young person becoming an adult?  Once you get that mortgage, or outright buy it, you have responsibility to and ownership of something vast and timeless.  What a strange event in a persons life. Hopefully she gets her land.

The second I notice was my own reaction to her. Clearly I have matured, because I no longer ogle her like a 15 year old.  She is still a beautiful woman, but I would no longer sell my left leg for a shot at her.  I’m happy about this, I’ve been waiting for my own transition to being a real grown up, and I think it’s coming.

Tags: , , ,

One Response to “Dreaming While You Sleep”

  1. fallicule Says:

    http://www.duchesssays.com looks like “www dot Dutch Essays dot com”

Leave a Reply

