But Wait There’s More

Vodpod videos no longer available.

I have been on a National Film Board kick the last few days.  This delightful vignette is a play on both Canadian bilingualism and flashy infomercials.  I absolutely love infomercials.  I would never actually purchase a product I saw on one of those programs, but that doesn’t stop me from watching them.  Perhaps it is my love of watching confident persuasive people at work (see my interest in religious leaders for more on this), or maybe I am just easily entertained.  I highly recommend clicking your way over to the infomercial blog for a wide array of commentary and video relating to everyt commercial from the Slap Chop to the Magic Bullet.

The video itself cracks me up. I wrote a big project in OAC (what was once Grade 13 in Ontario) on English-French relations in Canada.  I think this one minute film summarizes the great divide between the two cultures in a unique and clever way.  Director Andre Leduc clearly has a handle on this relationship.  The “4 different accents” part made me laugh out loud.  In high school we were taught to speak Parisian French, and many of my friends have been made fun of in Quebec for “sounding funny.”  I also had a bilingual friend whose dog only understood French despite living in Southern Ontario.  This is such a wacky country.

A new episode of the podcast will be forthcoming and I may discuss a few of the recent blog topics in a little more depth.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

