You Can Keep The Furniture, Bump On The Head

You can keep the furniture, a bump on the head, crawling down the chimney, release me.

Radiohead

Morning Bell

The story goes that Thom Yorke completely forgot how to play Morning Bell at some point between Kid A and Amnesiac.  Then one night he had a dream about the song and suddenly could play it again.  I haven’t bothered to verify this story, and I am going to simply trust my memory.  I know there are many songs I’ve forgotten how to play but none bothers me more than the elusive CS1.  Back in the days of Pinstripe Mystery I wrote a great many songs specifically for the band.  Some of those songs I can still play, like NOTLD and The Sunrises, but a few like Elf Ears and CS1 are lost, maybe forever.  The reason I am so obsessed with the cleverly named Crystal Song 1 is that it was such a unique little song.  It was the first piece I had ever written for a female singer, and it had such a neat vibe.  At least I remember thinking that, since I can’t recall any part of the song.

Artists and writers generally put things down on paper, canvass or etc. as they are creating, so there is a living record.  For musicians its not always possible to record every idea or musical moment, so inevitably some are lost to history.  Now CS1 was written down, likely in several places.  Those records have also been lost to time, some with the death of my last laptop, and others into the recycling bin over the intervening years.  I’ve watched videotape of old rehersals and shows.  I’ve dug through piles of papers with disparate musical ideas.  All of it for nothing.  CS1 will likely never live again. It’s musical existence ended far too quickly.

To make up for this self-indulgent story here is Thom Yorke live From the Basement with Down is the New Up.

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

