Every River That I Try To Cross

Just because I’m losing doesn’t mean I’m lost.

Coldplay

Lost!

The internet is an amazing invention.  I don’t think the reasons need to be listed here. Regardless I have yet another site for you to peruse.  If you are like me and love trivia, you will enjoy sporcle.  It is loaded with those fun “how many of “insert thing” can you name?”  I’ve done Olympic host cities, tried to name the most populous cities in Canada and even went after U.S. Presidents without military service. Some of this are very challenging, and I’ve only managed to ace one test, name the MLB teams, a gimmie if there ever was one.  If you go to this site, you may lose an hour of your life.

I have quoted that Coldplay song again today.  It’s Wednesday for me, which means I am 3 days away from the 2009 Reach Forth Basketball Playoffs.  While recreational adult sports aren’t that serious, and I’m not one of those people who takes it too seriously, I do appreciate the fun and pressure that comes with any kind of playoff in sports.  My team finished in last place this season, so for us there is literally nothing on the line. For the other teams there is, of course, not much more.  Yet I am compelled by the underdog status we have going forward.  Our collection of young players (average age of my team is likely around 28) has struggled to find a groove all season.  The playoffs offer us an opportunity to change our fortunes completely with three measley little wins.  I imagine that the other teams will view our team as an easy out. We have been competitive in most games but have had some really awful weeks where we were shorthanded and lacked motivation.  This weekend will be different.

I am reminded of the words of another master songwriter, Tom Petty:

Well I know what’s right, I got just one line, in a world that kees on pushing me around, I’m gonna stand my ground and I won’t back down…You can stand me up at the gates of hell, and I won’t back down.

Although the outcome of this weekend will make little lasting impact on my life, for a few hours that basketball court will be the most important part of my world.  The 6 people I have shared this season (and for most of them last as well) will be my family, and all that will matter is putting our best effort forward.  We will forget about everything that’s happened before and know that as the last place team we have nothing to lose.  That kind of redemption is rare in life, but regular in sport. Perhaps that is why we love them so much.  It’s certainly the reason I enjoy every cheesy sports movies.  I can see Shane Falco throw the winning touchdown in The Replacements a dozen times and still feel that twinge in my heart.  Maybe my team will rise to the occasion this weekend, maybe we will win it all,maybe we won’t last a game.  Regardless it will be a thrilling ride as we get lost in the moment.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

