Rico Was A Short Man

It’s the eye of the tiger it’s the thrill of the fight. Rising up to the challenge of our rival. And the last known survivor stalks his prey in the night. And his fortune must always be eye of the tiger.

Survivor

Eye of the Tiger

A commercial for the new Conan O’Brien talk show used this song.  My high school band, Urban Moon, covered it for awhile.  It got me thinking about the many songs I’ve covered over the years.  My previous bands’ musical attempts have ranged from The Band to Wide Mouth Mason.  I imagine the total number is over 150, but I’m not sure I could play 10 of them today.  Urban Moon used to go through 15-20 songs a year.  Basically, we performed 5 new songs every show.  I was also part of a short lived group that only played songs by Matthew Good Band.  In university I played even more cover songs, including a long version of Lucky Man that caused the audience to fall asleep (oops!).  All of this is fairly irrelevant but it does give me an opportunity to announce that The Alder Fork’s new album, The Colour I Remember Most will be out in June.  It’s been less than a year since The Lights I See You In Shadow, but this new album marks a turning point in my music making.  This album will have a physical existence (a real CD!) and will be more promoted than the last one.  Why am I doing this?  Mostly because I think this collection of songs is my best ever and deserves a little more effort than usual.  I’ll have all the details about purchasing the CD once it’s ready to go.  Thanks for your ongoing support of The Alder Fork in all its forms.  Since I have a busy weekend ahead, I’m not sure that there will be a podcast this week. Next week I am heading to Oakville to interview Madison Violet, which promises to be a lot of fun.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

